Intervention Programs in Canada

Below is a list of organizations that offer interventions to counter radicalization to violence. While each program is slightly different, their interventions are very similar. Most interventions are led by health or social service professionals who address the needs and vulnerabilities of the individual. Depending on the complexity of case, some interventions can involve professionals from various disciplines, such as health, employment, housing, policing, law, mental health, education, and child welfare services.

More details about each program can be found by following the links to their websites. All organizations listed here receive support from the Canada Centre.

However, the Canada Centre does not provide advice, manage, or obtain information about individual cases.

Calgary

The ReDirect program focuses on early intervention and prevention with youth before the process of radicalization occurs, or with youth who are in the early stages of radicalization to violence. The program is led by the Calgary Police Service in partnership with the City of Calgary Community & Neighborhood Services, as well as other local health and social service agencies.

Website: www.redirectprogram.ca

Edmonton

The Organization for the Prevention of Violence (OPV) is an evidence-driven NGO engaged in the prevention of hate-motivated violence in Western Canada.  OPV is in the initial stages of creating an intervention program. Their current activities focus on community research, workshops, and the design of educational materials.

Ottawa

The John Howard Society of Ottawa is a non-profit organization with the goal of addressing crime and its consequences through prevention and intervention services as well as advocacy, research, public education, coalition building and cross-sector partnerships. Through its Project ReSet, the John Howard Society of Ottawa offers a multi-disciplinary service in Eastern Ontario to support individuals and families impacted by hate-motivated violence. Project ReSet can provide interventions aimed at disengagement and reintegration for cases of radicalization to violence.
Phone: 613-842-0999

Ottawa MERIT (Multiagency Early Risk Intervention Tables) is an initiative led by the Ottawa Police Service that aims to reduce crime, victimization and improve community safety and well-being.  MERIT follows a “situation table” model, which enables local agencies with different mandates, such as health, employment, housing, legal, mental health, education, and child welfare services, to mobilize and respond when individuals have complex health and social problems, including cases of radicalization to violence.
Phone: 613-315-4983
e-mail: merit@ottawapolice.ca

Toronto

FOCUS Toronto (Furthering Our Communities by Uniting Services) is a collaboration between the Toronto Police Service, the City of Toronto, and the United Way, who are partnering with local community organizations to reduce crime and improve community resilience. FOCUS operates four situation tables across the Greater Toronto Area, where each “table” enables local agencies with different mandates, such as health, employment, housing, legal aid, mental health, education, and child welfare services, to mobilize and respond when individuals have complex health and social problems, including cases of radicalization to violence.

Montreal and across Quebec

Social Polarizations is a team of mental-health professionals who specialize in interventions to counter radicalization to violence, based in a local Integrated Health and Social Services Centre, known by its French acronym CISSS. Because the Social Polarizations team works within Quebec’s CISSS system, it can leverage the various health and social services throughout the network of CISSS across the province, enabling them to provide interventions in most locations across Québec.
Phone: 514-267-3979

The Centre for the Prevention of Radicalization Leading to Violence (CPRLV; often called the Montreal Centre) can provide information, support, and counselling over the phone to anyone who has concerns about violent extremism. They also provide in-person case management and social reintegration for individuals who have radicalized to violence.
Phone: Montréal 514-687-7141 (or anywhere else across Québec 1-877-687-7141)

Date modified:

Programmes d’interventions au Canada

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des organisations qui effectuent des interventions permettant de lutter contre la radicalisation menant à la violence. Bien que chaque programme soit légèrement différent, les interventions réalisées par ces organisations sont très semblables. La plupart des interventions sont réalisées sous la direction de professionnels de la santé ou des services sociaux qui répondent aux besoins et aux vulnérabilités de la personne concernée. Selon la complexité du cas, certaines interventions peuvent faire appel à des professionnels de diverses disciplines, comme la santé, l'emploi, le logement, les services de police, le droit, la santé mentale, l'éducation et les services de protection de l'enfance.

Vous pouvez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur chaque programme en suivant les liens vers leurs sites web. Toutes les organisations indiquées sur cette page web bénéficient de l’appui du Centre canadien. Toutefois, le Centre canadien ne donne pas de conseil sur, n’obtient pas d’information à propos, et ne gère pas les cas individuels.

Calgary

Le programme ReDirect met l'accent sur l'intervention et la prévention précoce auprès des jeunes avant qu’ils soient amenés à se radicaliser à la violence, ou auprès des jeunes qui en sont aux premiers stades de la radicalisation menant à la violence. La direction du programme est assurée par le service de police de Calgary en partenariat avec les Services communautaires et de quartier de la ville de Calgary, de même qu’avec d’autres organismes locaux de santé et de services sociaux.

Site web : www.redirectprogram.ca

Edmonton

L’Organisation pour la prévention de la violence est une organisation non gouvernementale (ONG) fondée sur des données probantes afin de prévenir la violence motivée par la haine dans l’Ouest canadien. Le programme en est aux premières étapes de la création d'un service d'intervention. Les activités actuelles sont axées sur la recherche, l’organisation d'ateliers et de groupes de discussion, ainsi que la rédaction de documents éducatifs.

Ottawa

La Société John Howard d’Ottawa est une organisation à but non lucratif ayant pour objectif d’adresser les crimes et ses conséquences à travers des services de prévention et d’intervention ainsi que de recherche, d’éducation du public, de renforcement des coalitions  et de partenariat intersectoriels. Par son projet ReSet, la Société John Howard d’Ottawa offre un service multidisciplinaire dans l’Est de l’Ontario afin de supporter des individus et les familles touchés par la violence motivée par le haine. Pour des cas de radicalisation menant à la violence, le projet ReSet peut fournir des interventions visant le désengagement et la réintégration.
Téléphone : 613 842-0999

Ottawa MERIT (Multiagency Early Risk Intervention Tables) est une initiative du Service de police d'Ottawa, axée sur la réduction de la criminalité et de la victimisation, de même que sur l’amélioration de la sécurité et du bien-être communautaires. MERIT suit le modèle « tables d’intervention », qui permet aux organismes locaux dotés de mandats différents, dont la santé, l'emploi, le logement, le droit, la santé mentale, l'éducation et les services de protection de l'enfance, de se mobiliser et d’intervenir auprès de personnes ayant des problèmes sociaux et de santé complexes, notamment des cas de radicalisation menant à la violence.
Téléphone : 613-315-4983
Courriel : merit@ottawapolice.ca

Toronto

FOCUS Toronto (Furthering Our Communities by Uniting Services) est le fruit d'une collaboration entre le Service de police de Toronto, la Ville de Toronto et Centraide, qui travaillent en partenariat avec des organisations communautaires locales afin de réduire la criminalité et d’améliorer la résilience de la collectivité. FOCUS gère quatre tables d’intervention dans la région du Grand Toronto, dans le cadre desquelles chaque « table » permet à des organismes locaux dotés de mandats différents, comme la santé, l'emploi, le logement, l'aide juridique, la santé mentale, l'éducation et les services de protection de l'enfance, de se mobiliser et d’intervenir auprès de personnes ayant des problèmes sociaux et de santé complexes, notamment des cas de radicalisation menant à la violence.

Montréal et dans l’ensemble du Québec

L’équipe de Polarisations sociales est établie dans un Centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux, (CISSS). L’équipe est formée de professionnels de la santé mentale qui se spécialisent dans les interventions pour contrer la radicalisation menant à la violence. Puisque l'équipe se trouve au sein d’un CISSS, elle peut profiter des divers services de santé et sociaux du réseau des CISSS à travers la province, ce qui lui permet de réaliser des interventions dans la plupart des endroits au Québec.
Téléphone : 514-267-3979

Le personnel du Centre de prévention de la radicalisation menant à la violence (CPRMV; souvent appelé le Centre de Montréal) peut fournir de l’information, du soutien et des conseils par téléphone à quiconque s'inquiète de l'extrémisme violent. Il assure également la gestion des cas en personne et la réinsertion sociale des personnes qui se sont radicalisées à la violence.
Téléphone : Montréal 514-687-7141 (ou ailleurs au Québec 1-877-687-7141)

Date de modification :