Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

The Canadian Disaster Database

The Canadian Disaster Database (CDD) contains detailed disaster information on more than 1000 natural, technological and conflict events (excluding war) that have happened since 1900 at home or abroad and that have directly affected Canadians. The CDD tracks "significant disaster events" which conform to the Emergency Management Framework for Canada definition of a "disaster" and meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • 10 or more people killed
  • 100 or more people affected/injured/infected/evacuated or homeless
  • an appeal for national/international assistance
  • historical significance
  • significant damage/interruption of normal processes such that the community affected cannot recover on its own

The database describes where and when a disaster occurred, the number of injuries, evacuations, and fatalities, as well as a rough estimate of the costs.  As much as possible, the CDD contains primary data that is valid, current and supported by reliable and traceable sources, including federal institutions, provincial/territorial governments, non-governmental organizations and media sources.  Data is updated and reviewed on a semi-annual basis.

Geospatial

A geospatial mapping component has been added to the CDD, which enables users to define their search of the disaster database by using a spatially-defined area.  It also displays query results charted across a map.  Geospatial disaster data contained in the CDD can be exported through KML or GeoRSS feeds.  Data from both the Classic CDD and the Geospatial CDD can be downloaded into report formats.


Each data field has been defined. Below is a list of data fields and their definitions.

CDD Data Fields and Descriptions
Data Field Description
Disaster Type The type of disaster (e.g. flood, earthquake, etc.) that occurred.
Date of Event The date a specific event took place.
Specific Location The city, town or region where a specific event took place.
Description of Event A brief description of a specific event, including pertinent details that may not be captured in other data fields (e.g. amount of precipitation, temperatures, neighbourhoods, etc.)
Fatalities The number of people killed due to a specific event.
Injured/Infected The number of people injured or infected due to a specific event.
Evacuees The number of individuals evacuated by the government of Canada due to a specific event.
Latitude & Longitude The exact geographic location of a specific event.
Province/Territory The province or territory where a specific event took place.
Estimated Total Cost A roll-up of all the costs listed within the financial data fields for a specific event.
DFAA Payments The amount, in dollars, paid out by Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (Public Safety Canada) due to a specific event.
Insurance Payments The amount, in dollars, paid out by insurance companies due to a specific event.
Provincial/Territorial Costs/Payments The amount, in dollars, paid out by a Province or Territory due to a specific event.
Utility Costs/Losses The amount of people whose utility services (power, water, etc.) were interrupted/affected by a specific event.
Magnitude A measure of the size of an earthquake, related to the amount of energy released.
Other Federal Institution Costs The amount, in dollars, paid out by other federal institutions.

Reference Table for Symbols and Definitions

Normalization of costs

The CDD displays cost data in the dollar amount of the year that the event took place or the year a specific payment was made.  A conversion tool is available for users to convert this "raw" data into the dollar amount in effect for the year of their choosing to determine whether costs have increased or decreased over time, or whether preventative/mitigative measures have helped to lower the cost of disasters.

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is used to normalize the financial data because it is widely used and accepted.  However, for events that occurred before 1914, the 1914 CPI must be used.  Also, as the CPI cannot be applied to the current year, users should use the year previous to the current year to normalize cost data.  

Mapping credits

GeoBase
Public Safety Canada
NaturalEarthData.org
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
United States Geological Survey
United States Census Bureau

Disclaimer

Where there has been no finding of fact by a court of law in criminal, civil or administrative proceeding, the facts set out in this database are alleged facts.

The contents of the database undergo constant revision as new disasters occur and more information about past disasters becomes available.  Cost and loss data in particular are subject to regular update since there are currently no standardized guidelines for collecting this type of information.  Financial data sometimes takes years to finalize.  Please note that estimates are provided in the interest of keeping the database current.

Contacting the Canadian Disaster Database Secretariat

Should you have information on an event, or have questions or concerns, please contact us via e-mail at cdd-bdc@ps-sp.gc.ca.

Base de données canadienne sur les catastrophes

La Base de données canadienne sur les catastrophes (BDC) comprend des renseignements détaillés sur plus de 1 000 catastrophes naturelles, incidents technologiques et conflits (à l'exception des guerres) qui ont eu lieu depuis 1900 au pays ou à l'étranger et ont touché directement des Canadiens. La BDC trouve les « catastrophes importantes » qui correspondent à la définition utilisée dans le document Un cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada et satisfont à l'un ou à plusieurs des critères suivants :

  • 10 personnes ou plus ont été tuées;
  • 100 personnes ou plus ont été touchées, blessées, évacuées ou se sont trouvées sans logement;
  • une demande d'aide a été effectuée à l'échelle nationale ou internationale;
  • la catastrophe revêt une importance historique;
  • les dommages ou l'interruption des processus normaux étaient tels que la collectivité touchée n'a pu se rétablir seule.

On y trouve de l'information sur la date et le lieu de la catastrophe, le nombre de personnes blessées, évacuées et décédées ainsi qu'une estimation des coûts de la catastrophe. La BDC contient dans la mesure du possible des données brutes valides, à jour et appuyées par des sources fiables et retraçables, y compris des institutions fédérales, des administrations provinciales et territoriales, des organisations non gouvernementales et des sources médiatiques. Ces données sont mises à jour et actualisées deux fois par année.

Données géospatiales

Un outil de repérage géospatial intégré à la BDC permet aux utilisateurs de définir leurs recherches dans la base de données en fonction d'un secteur physique précis. Cet outil présente les résultats des recherches sur une carte. Les données géospatiales de la BDC peuvent être exportées au moyen des fils KML ou GeoRSS. Les données provenant de la BDC et de la Base de données géospatiales canadienne sur les catastrophes peuvent être téléchargées sous forme de rapports.  


Chaque champ de données dans la BDC a été défini. Une liste des champs de données et de leur description figure ci-dessous.

Champs de données et descriptions de la BCDD
Champ de données Description
Type de catastrophe Type de catastrophe survenue (p. ex. inondation, tremblement de terre, etc.).
Date de l'événement Date à laquelle l'événement a eu lieu.
Lieu précis Ville, village ou région où l'événement a eu lieu.
Description de l'événement Brève description d'un événement précis, y compris les détails pertinents qui n'ont peut-être pas été saisis dans les autres champs de données (p. ex. quantité de précipitations, température, voisinage, etc.).
Victimes Nombre de personnes tuées en raison de l'événement.
Blessés/Infectés Nombre de personnes blessées en raison d'un événement précis.
Évacués Nombre de personnes évacuées par le gouvernement du Canada en raison d'un événement précis.
Latitude et longitude Emplacement géographique exact d'un événement précis.
Province / territoire Province ou territoire où l'événement a eu lieu.
Coûts estimatifs totaux Synthèse de tous les coûts énumérés dans les champs de données pour un événement précis.
Paiements effectués en vertu des AAFCC Montant, en dollars, versé en vertu des Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe en raison d'un événement bien précis.
Paiements d'assurances Montant, en dollars, versé par les compagnies d'assurance à la suite d'un événement précis.
Paiements effectués / coûts assumés par les provinces ou les territoires Montant, en dollars, versé en vertu des Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe à la suite d'un événement précis.
Pertes ou coûts liés aux services publics Le nombre de personnes dont les services publics (électricité, eau, etc.) ont été interrompus en raison d'un événement précis ou touchés par un tel événement.
Magnitude Une mesure de la magnitude d'un tremblement de terre, par rapport à l'énergie libérée.
Coûts liés aux autres institutions fédérales La somme, en dollars, versée par d'autres institutions fédérales.

Tableau de référence pour les symboles et définitions

Normalisation

La BDC affiche les données relatives aux coûts en fonction du montant en dollars de l'année durant laquelle la catastrophe a eu lieu ou encore de l'année durant laquelle un paiement particulier a été effectué. Un outil permet aux utilisateurs de convertir ces données « brutes » en dollars normalisés pour l'année de leur choix et déterminer ainsi si les coûts ont augmenté ou diminué au fil du temps, ou si des mesures d'atténuation/de prévention auraient contribué à les réduire.

L'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) est utilisé pour normaliser les données financières parce qu'il est reconnu et accepté par un très grand nombre d'intervenants. Par contre, pour les événements antérieurs à 1914, l'IPC de 1914 doit être utilisé. De plus, comme l'IPC ne peut pas être appliqué à l'année en cours, les utilisateurs doivent utiliser l'année antérieure à l'année en cours pour normaliser les données.

Services cartographiques

GéoBase
Sécurité publique Canada
NaturalEarthData.org
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
United States Geological Survey
United States Census Bureau

Avertissement

À moins qu'un fait n'ait été l'objet d'une décision d'un tribunal dans le cadre d'une instance pénale, civile ou administrative, les faits énoncés dans cette base de données sont des faits présumés.

Le contenu de la base de données est constamment révisé à mesure que de nouvelles catastrophes surviennent et que de nouveaux renseignements sur des événements passés s'ajoutent. Les données sur les coûts et les pertes sont mises à jour régulièrement puisqu'il n'existe aucune directive normalisée pour recueillir ce genre d'information à l'heure actuelle. Il faut parfois des années pour mettre la dernière main à des données financières. Veuillez prendre note que les prévisions sont fournies dans le souci de maintenir le contenu de la base de données à jour.

Pour communiquer avec le secrétariat de la Base de données canadienne sur les catastrophes

Si vous possédez de l'information sur une catastrophe, si vous avez des questions ou si vous désirez faire part de vos préoccupations, veuillez communiquer avec nous à
cdd-bdc@ps-sp.gc.ca.