National Summit on Combatting Auto Theft

On February 8, 2024,  in Ottawa, the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs, the Honourable Arif Virani, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Transport and Quebec Lieutenant, the Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry and the Honourable Anita Anand, President of the Treasury Board are convening provincial, territorial and municipal government officials, industry leaders and law enforcement representatives from across the country at the National Summit on Combatting Auto Theft.


Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa

February 8, 2024 | 8:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Time Agenda
8:30-9:00 Welcome Reception

Opening Remarks

  • The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc
  • The Honourable Arif Virani
  • The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez
  • The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne
  • The Honourable Anita Anand

Note: Media will be present for opening remarks.


Regional Picture: Roundtable Discussion

  • The Honourable Michael Kerzner, Solicitor General of Ontario
  • Mr. François Bonnardel, Minister of Public Security of Québec
  • Valérie Plante, Mayor of Montréal
  • Patrick Brown, Mayor of Brampton
  • Stéphane Boyer, Mayor of Laval
  • Amarjeet Sohi, Mayor of Edmonton

Context Setting: Domestic and Transnational Stolen Vehicle Trade

Describe current status of auto theft trends and impact of domestic and international stolen vehicle markets on Canadians.

  • Équité: Terri O'Brien, President and Bryan Gast, Vice President

Identify and Address Gaps: Solutions on the Continuum

[10 minute presentation and 5 minute discussion for each]

  • Automaker Associations
    • Global Automakers Canada: David Adams, President
    • Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers Association: Brian Kingston, President
  • Insurance Industry
    • Insurance Bureau of Canada: Celyeste Power, President
  • Port Industry 
    • Association of Canadian Port Authorities: Daniel-Robert Gooch, President
    • Port of Montréal: Geneviève Deschamps, Interim CEO
  • Law Enforcement
    • Sûreté du Québec: Johanne Beausoleil, Director General;
    • Ontario Provincial Police: Thomas Carrique, Commissioner;
    • Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Danny Smyth, President and Pierre Brochet, Vice President
11:00-11:15 Morning Break

Transnational Organized Crime and Border Integrity

  • Canada Border Services Agency: Erin O’Gorman, President
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Mike Duheme, Commissioner

Wrap-Up: Key Takeaways and Next Steps

  • Federal Ministers

Group Photo

*Along flags in main meeting room

12:30 News Conference
*Federal and Provincial Ministers leave
12:00-13:00 Lunch and networking

Plenary Session I: Prevention

Technology, Innovation and Research in auto theft deterrence. Discuss Key Issues, Current Actions and Future Outlook.

[30 minute presentations, 15 minute questions & answers]

  • CAA: Ian Jack, President
  • Manufacturers
    • GM: Sarah Goldfeder, Director Government Relations
    • Honda: Ken Dick, Assistant Vice President, Technical Operations  
    • Toyota: Stephen Beatty, Vice President and Secretary Corp
  • Insurance
    • Aviva: Tracy Garrad, CEO
  • Intact: Guillaume Lamy, Senior Vice President
13:45-14:00 Afternoon Break

Plenary Session II: Law Enforcement

Address common building blocks of successful joint criminal investigation effort on auto theft. Discuss Key Issues, Current Actions and Future Outlook.

[30 minute presentations, 15 minute questions & answers]

  • Toronto Police Service: Chief Myron Demkiw and Deputy Chief Robert Johnson 
  • Peel Regional Police: Chief Nishan Duraiappah
  • Service de Police de la Ville de Montréal: Chief Fady Dagher
  • Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police: Chief Jim MacSween
  • Canada Border Services Agency: Erin O'Gorman, President
14:45-15:00 Closing Plenary
15:00 Event ends
Date modified: