Research Summary: Deportation, Circular Migration and Organized Crime: Honduras

PDF (136 KB)

Deportees from Canada face a variety of economic and security challenges upon their return to Honduras, one of the five most violent countries in the world.

Background

Canadian immigration policy requires that non-citizens who have committed serious crimes be removed from Canada and returned to their country of origin. In other countries, similar patterns of circular migration—immigration followed by deportation—have facilitated the development of transnational organized crime links. Most notably, deportation and circular migration played a central role in the development of the maras in Central America, whose origins as Los Angeles street gangs facilitated their re-entry into the drug-trafficking market in the United States (U.S.). The report examines the impacts of forced criminal deportation on crime and community security in Canada and in the case study country, Honduras.

Nearly half of Hondurans live in extreme deprivation, defined as lacking the most basic means to feed themselves (Casas-Zamora, 2015:2). Unsurprisingly, deportees from Canada face a variety of economic and security challenges upon their return to Honduras. As a group, criminal deportees are particularly stigmatized and find it extraordinarily challenging to secure adequate housing, healthcare, education and livelihoods.

Honduras hosts two distinct forms of transnational criminality that could affect public security in Canada: the youth gangs known as the maras, and the more sophisticated transnational organized crime groups that oversee the hemisphere’s drug trade (while also participating in other forms of transnational organized crime, including human smuggling and arms trafficking).

The report considers a number of interconnected sets of issues concerning the relationship between deportation, circular migration and organized crime in Canada and Honduras, including the prospective threats these deportees may pose to Canada and the impact of deportations on development in Honduras. The report concludes with a set of potential policy options to help mitigate the negative impacts of criminal deportation on public safety in Canada and Honduras.

Method

The foundational basis for the report’s findings was an exhaustive review of the existing literature on transnational organized crime in Canada and Honduras, as well as the challenges facing deportees and the availability of reintegration programs in Honduras. This literature review was augmented by data provided by the Canada Border Services Agency on the scale of deportation from Canada to Honduras, the reasons for removal and the number of deportations involving organized crime. The authors also conducted 14 interviews with researchers, academics, reintegration program staff, policymakers and law enforcement officials in Canada and Honduras.

Findings

There is to date no evidence of a direct connection between Honduran deportees from Canada and gang activity in Canada. Such ties remain possible, in the present and in the future, because the (Mara Salvatrucha) MS-13 and the Barrio 18 gangs are both known to operate in Canada, but are highly improbable given the diffuse and localized structure of the maras.

Similarly, there is no evidence of directties to Canada from Honduran organized crime groups. The majority of cocaine entering Canada crosses the U.S. border under the control of Mexican, Colombian, and Dominican organizations. Honduran criminal groups operate much further down the supply chain. As one expert interviewed for this report noted, “there are many degrees of separation between people smuggling drugs into Canada and those transshipping it through Honduras. The relationship is really indirect.”

In Honduras, however, the impact of deportation is more clearly evident, as deportations continue to feed Central America’s gang problem. Garzón (2013:5) noted that, “evidence shows that criminals returning from the U.S. to Mexico and countries in Central America have been a major catalyst for violence and crime in the region.” Although there are some (grossly insufficient and under-resourced) reintegration programs for returned migrants deported for violation of visa conditions and the like, there are no programs tailored to criminal deportees. It is important to acknowledge, however, that deportations from Canada in recent years have never constituted more than 0.5 percent of those from the U.S. and Mexico combined. Thus, the impact of deportation from Canada on organized crime in Canada and Honduras should not be overstated.

Nevertheless, as a country of focus for the Government of Canada’s international development efforts, the state of public security in Honduras is cause for serious concern. Fuelled by its crisis of gang violence and prominent position in the hemispheric drug trade, Honduras has suffered some of the highest murder rates “on record in modern times,” reaching a staggering 92 per 100,000 inhabitants in 2011 (UNODC, 2012:15). The escalation of violence and criminality afflicting Honduras has readily overwhelmed its already fragile state institutions, which have proved unable—and in many cases unwilling—to ensure the public safety of citizens (including deportees) and address the country’s role in transnational organized crime (see Meyer, 2015).

While the Honduran security and justice sectors are overwhelmed by the challenge of violent crime, significantly undermanned and under-resourced, and plagued by corruption and dysfunction, reforms are underway, including the September 2015 approval of an international Mission to Support the Fight against Corruption and Impunity in Honduras (MACCIH).

Implications

The report suggests several potential policy options for the Canadian government to consider, including:

Source

Burt, Geoff, Michael Lawrence, Mark Sedra, James Bosworth, Philippe Couton, Robert Muggah and Hannah Stone. (2016). “Deportation, Circular Migration and Organized Crime: Honduras Case Study.” Public Safety Canada.

Additional Sources

Casas-Zamora, Kevin. “The Roots of Central America’s Exodus,” Testimony given to the United States Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Hearing on “Ongoing Migration from Central America,” October 21, 2015.

Garzón, Juan Carlos. “The Criminal Diaspora: The Spread of Transnational Organized Crime and How to Contain its Expansion,” Wilson Center, August 25, 2013.

Meyer, Peter J. “Honduras: Background and U.S. Relations.” Congressional Research Service, May 20, 2015.

UNODC. Transnational Organized Crime in Central America and the Caribbean: A Threat Assessment, 2012.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and does not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Expulsion, migration circulaire et crime organisé : Honduras

PDF (136 KB)

Les personnes expulsées du Canada font face à divers problèmes sur les plans économique et de la sécurité à leur retour au Honduras, l'un des cinq pays les plus violents au monde.

Contexte

Selon la politique canadienne d'immigration, les non-citoyens qui ont commis de graves crimes doivent être renvoyés du Canada et retourner dans leur pays d'origine. Dans d'autres pays, des exemples semblables de migration circulaire – migration suivie de l'expulsion – ont favorisé les liens avec le crime organisé transnational. Notamment, l'expulsion et la migration circulaire ont joué un rôle central dans l'essor des maras en Amérique centrale. En raison de leur origine (les gangs de rue de Los Angeles), des membres des maras ont pu plus facilement réintégrer le marché du trafic de drogues aux États‑Unis. Le rapport examine les conséquences de l'expulsion forcée de criminels sur la criminalité et la sécurité des collectivités au Canada et au Honduras, qui fait l'objet de l'étude de cas.

Près de la moitié des Honduriens vivent dans un état de dénuement extrême, défini comme la privation des moyens les plus élémentaires de se nourrir (Casas‑Zamora, 2015:2). Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, les personnes expulsées du Canada font face à divers problèmes sur les plans économique et de la sécurité à leur retour au Honduras. Dans leur ensemble, les criminels expulsés sont particulièrement stigmatisés et ont énormément de difficultés à obtenir un logement adéquat, des soins de santé, un accès à l'éducation et des moyens de subsistance.

Il existe au Honduras deux formes distinctes de criminalité transnationale qui pourraient influencer la sécurité publique au Canada : les gangs de jeunes appelés maras, de même que les groupes transnationaux de crime organisé plus complexes qui supervisent le trafic de drogues dans les Amériques (et qui participent également à d'autres activités criminelles organisées transnationales, notamment le passage de clandestins et le trafic d'armes).

Le rapport analyse un certain nombre de questions interreliées qui découlent de la relation qui existe entre l'expulsion, la migration circulaire et le crime organisé au Canada et au Honduras. D'abord, il examine les menaces potentielles que les personnes expulsées peuvent poser pour le Canada. Ensuite, il évalue l'incidence des expulsions sur le développement au Honduras, pays qui a été désigné comme bénéficiaire prioritaire de l'aide du Canada. Le rapport se termine par une série de propositions de politiques visant à atténuer les conséquences négatives de l'expulsion des criminels sur la sécurité publique au Canada et au Honduras.

Méthode

Les constatations du rapport se fondent sur une revue exhaustive de la littérature portant sur le crime organisé transnational au Canada et au Honduras, de même que sur les difficultés auxquelles se heurtent les personnes expulsées et sur la disponibilité de programmes de réinsertion sociale au Honduras. Cette revue de la littérature a été rehaussée de données transmises par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada concernant l'ampleur de l'expulsion du Canada vers le Honduras, les motifs de renvoi et le nombre d'expulsions liées au crime organisé. Les auteurs ont également mené 14 entrevues auprès de chercheurs, d'universitaires, d'employés de programmes de réinsertion sociale, de décideurs et de représentants de l'application de la loi au Canada et au Honduras.

Constations

Il n'existe toujours aucune preuve de lien direct entre les Honduriens expulsés du Canada et les activités des gangs au pays. Ce genre d'attaches demeurent possibles, aujourd'hui et à l'avenir, puisque les gangs Mara Salvatrucha (MS‑13) et Barrio 18, nous le savons, sévissent au Canada; toutefois, cela est très peu probable compte tenu de la structure dispersée et localisée des maras.

De même, rien ne montre qu'il existe des liens directs entre les organisations criminelles honduriennes et le Canada. La plus grande partie de la cocaïne entrant au Canada traverse la frontière américaine sous le contrôle de gangs mexicains, colombiens et dominicains. Les groupes criminels honduriens sont actifs davantage en amont de la chaîne d'approvisionnement. Comme l'a fait remarquer un expert qui a répondu à nos questions dans le cadre du rapport, « il existe de nombreux degrés de séparation entre les personnes qui passent en contrebande de la drogue au Canada et les personnes qui les transbordent par le Honduras. La relation est réellement indirecte » [Traduction].

Les conséquences de l'expulsion apparaissent toutefois clairement au Honduras, où les expulsions continuent d'alimenter le problème des gangs en Amérique centrale. Selon Garzón (2013:5), « les données montrent que les criminels expulsés des États‑Unis retournant au Mexique et dans les pays d'Amérique centrale sont un catalyseur majeur de la violence et de la criminalité dans la région » [Traduction]. Même s'il existe certains programmes de réinsertion sociale (nettement insuffisants et auxquels peu de ressources sont consacrées) destinés aux migrants expulsés vers le Honduras pour violation des conditions de visa et pour des motifs semblables, il n'existe pas de programmes à l'intention des criminels expulsés. Il importe cependant de reconnaître que les expulsions du Canada n'ont jamais représenté, au cours des dernières années, plus de 0,5 % des expulsions combinées des États‑Unis et du Mexique. Par conséquent, les conséquences de l'expulsion de personnes du Canada sur le crime organisé au Canada et au Honduras ne devraient pas être exagérées.

Néanmoins, puisque le Honduras figure au nombre des pays visés par les efforts du gouvernement du Canada en matière de développement international, l'état de la sécurité publique dans ce pays a de quoi inquiéter très sérieusement. En raison de sa crise de violence liée aux gangs et de sa position notoire dans le trafic de drogues dans les Amériques, le Honduras est accablé par l'un des taux de meurtres les plus élevés « consignés de l'ère moderne » [Traduction], atteignant le taux stupéfiant de 92 meurtres par tranche de 100 000 habitants en 2011 (ONUDC, 2012:15). La montée de la violence et de la criminalité au Honduras a facilement débordé ses institutions étatiques déjà fragiles, qui se sont montrées incapables – et, dans de nombreux cas, ont refusé – d'assurer la sécurité publique des citoyens (y compris les personnes expulsées) et de s'attaquer au rôle que joue le pays dans le crime organisé transnational (voir Meyer, 2015).

Même si les secteurs de la sécurité et de la justice au Honduras sont dépassés par le défi que représente la criminalité violente, manquent grandement d'effectifs et de ressources et sont minés par la corruption et le dysfonctionnement, des réformes sont en cours, notamment l'approbation en septembre 2015 d'une Mission d'appui à la lutte contre la corruption et l'impunité au Honduras.

Répercussions

Le rapport propose plusieurs options stratégiques potentielles que le gouvernement canadien pourrait examiner, notamment :

Source

Burt, Geoff, Lawrence, Michael, Sedra, Mark, Bosworth, James, Couton, Philippe, Muggah, Robert et Stone, Hannah. Expulsion, migration circulaire et crime organisé – Étude de cas : Honduras. Sécurité publique Canada.

Sources Additionnelles

Casas-Zamora, Kevin. (21 octobre 2015). The Roots of Central America's Exodus. Témoignage présenté lors de l'audience du Comité sénatorial des États‑Unis sur la sécurité intérieure et les affaires gouvernementales concernant la migration continue depuis l'Amérique centrale.

Garzón, Juan Carlos. (25 août 2013). The Criminal Diaspora: The Spread of Transnational Organized Crime and How to Contain its Expansion. Wilson Center. Meyer, Peter J. (20 mai 2015). Honduras: Background and U.S. Relations. Congressional Research Service.

ONUDC. (2012). Transnational Organized Crime in Central America and the Caribbean: A Threat Assessment.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :