Research Summary: Community Cadets Corps Program

PDF Version (223 KB)

Background

The Community Cadets Corps (CCC) program evaluation was undertaken to examine the effectiveness of Cadets as a crime prevention measure for Aboriginal youth. The CCC program was designed to increase the protective factors of Aboriginal youth ages 10 to 18 years old that are at risk of police contact, and/or engaging in criminal offences, anti-social activities, having conduct problems or truancy at school. Through the National Crime Prevention Strategy (NCPS), Public Safety Canada contributed $2.8 million in funding to implement four CCC crime prevention pilot projects in Aboriginal communities: Cross Lake, Manitoba; Kahkewistahaw First Nation, Saskatchewan; Touchwood Agency Tribal Council, Saskatchewan; and Hobbema, Alberta. Funding from the NCPS began in 2010 and ended in 2013.

The CCC program aims to enhance youths’ ability to make positive decisions, and lead to a productive and crime-free lifestyle. The program’s structure was influenced by the core principles underlying the theory of the Circle of Courage. This model provides a framework for healthy, holistic culturally authentic alternatives that will build a sense of identity and community (belonging) as well as provide opportunities to enhance skills (mastery), develop a sense of independence, and support youth to practice generosity. These are the foundations for positive youth development — empowering Aboriginal youth to develop pro-social competencies, attitudes and behaviours, thereby reducing the risk of delinquent activity and criminal involvement.

The CCC program has five main components: drill and deportment; group and individual mentoring; life skills training; community leadership/involvement; and cultural and recreational activities.

 

 

Objectives

The original intent of this evaluation was to determine whether the intervention had an impact on key outcomes, including increased attachment to and attendance/performance in school; enhanced life, leadership, communication, decision-making and problem-solving skills; increased pro-social behaviours and reduced anti-social and delinquent behaviours; increased physical fitness and employability; and increased attachment to and engagement in Aboriginal culture. Due to data collection challenges in most of the sites, however, the data that was most reliable included implementation related information.

Three independent third party consultants were contracted by the project recipient to conduct monitoring and process evaluations of the four CCC pilot projects. The objectives of these evaluations were as follows:

Methods

For the Cross Lake CCC program, data were collected through the administration of three questionnaires. Information regarding Cadets’ participation was based on attendance records. For the Kahkewistahaw First Nation Community CCC program and the Touchwood Agency Tribal Council CCC program, data were collected through the implementation of a basic attendance record-keeping system, in-person interviews and focus groups. For the Hobbema CCC program, data were collected from program observation, documents, reports and other program-collected data. Interviews were conducted with key stakeholders.

Findings

  1. A total of approximately 565–580 youth were enrolled and participated in the CCC program across all project sites. All participants were Aboriginal and living on reserve, and the vast majority fell within the target age range of 10‒18 years old. No risk level assessment data were recorded at the time of program registration.
  2. There was no consistent expected standard of dosage, some activities overlapped and the dosage received by participants varied by site. Only the Cross Lake and Kahkewistahaw First Nation Community sites implemented all core components of the CCC program.
  3. The CCC program activities were facilitated by program staff, military and RCMP staff, and volunteers. Across the program sites staffing issues were noted along with a need for more volunteers and parental involvement.
  4. Partnerships were instrumental to the implementation of program activities. The strongest working relationships were with the RCMP.
  5. Based on qualitative feedback from participants, staff, volunteers and other stakeholders, it may be concluded that the CCC program was able to meet the needs of participants. There were positive perceptions of the program by youth and parents, and it appeared to address a need in the community—the apparent lack of positive alternative social and recreational activities.

Lessons Learned and Recommendations

Challenges were identified in the following areas: fidelity in program implementation, data collection and data entry, program staffing and volunteers, and transportation and program space.

Several recommendations were suggested:

Once addressed, there will be an increased likelihood that the CCC program will be able to address the key outcomes listed above.

Source

Evaluation Summary: Community Cadets Corps (CCC) Program.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division
Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch
Public Safety Canada
269 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@ps-sp.gc.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Programme Community Cadets Corps

PDF Version (148 Ko)

Contexte

L’évaluation du programme Community Cadets Corps (CCC) avait pour objet d’examiner l’efficacité du programme comme mesure de prévention de la criminalité chez les jeunes autochtones. Le programme CCC a été conçu de façon à accroître les facteurs de protection que présentent les Autochtones âgés de 10 à 18 ans qui sont à risque d’avoir des contacts avec la police, de commettre des infractions criminelles, de se livrer à des activités antisociales, ou d’avoir des problèmes de comportement ou d’absentéisme à l’école. Par l’entremise de la Stratégie nationale pour la prévention du crime (SNPC), Sécurité publique Canada a versé 2,8 millions de dollars pour financer la mise en œuvre de quatre projets pilotes de prévention du crime faisant appel au modèle CCC dans des collectivités autochtones, à savoir celles de Cross Lake, au Manitoba; de la Première Nation de Kahkewistahaw, en Saskatchewan; du Conseil tribal de l’agence Touchwood, en Saskatchewan; et de Hobbema, en Alberta. Le financement de la SNPC a commencé en 2010 et a pris fin en 2013.

Le programme CCC vise à augmenter la capacité des jeunes à prendre de bonnes décisions et à mener une vie productive et sans criminalité. La structure du programme emprunte les principes de base qui sous-tendent la théorie du Cercle du courage. Ce modèle offre un cadre à l’adoption de solutions de rechange saines, holistiques et culturellement authentiques qui favoriseront un sentiment d’identité et de communauté (appartenance), tout en donnant aux jeunes l’occasion d’améliorer leurs compétences (maîtrise), de développer leur autonomie et de faire preuve de générosité. Voilà le fondement du développement positif des jeunes autochtones : leur permettre d’acquérir des compétences prosociales ainsi que d’adopter des attitudes et des comportements prosociaux, ce qui réduira le risque d’activités délinquantes et criminelles.

Le programme CCC inclut les cinq principales composantes suivantes : exercice et conduite; mentorat individuel et de groupe; préparation à la vie quotidienne; leadership et engagement dans la collectivité; activités culturelles et récréatives.

Objectifs

À l’origine, l’évaluation avait pour but de déterminer si l’intervention avait un impact sur les principaux effets attendus, notamment l’augmentation de l’attachement aux études, de la présence en classe et du rendement scolaire; l’accroissement des compétences de vie ainsi que des habiletés en matière de leadership, de communication, de prise de décisions et de résolution de problèmes; le renforcement des comportements prosociaux et la réduction des comportements antisociaux et délinquants; l’amélioration de la forme physique et de l’employabilité; et enfin, le resserrement de l’attachement à la culture autochtone et de l’ancrage dans cette culture. En raison de difficultés liées à la collecte des données dans la plupart des sites, les données qui étaient les plus fiables portaient sur la mise en œuvre.

Le bénéficiaire de financement a demandé à trois consultants tiers indépendants d’effectuer le suivi des quatre projets pilotes du programme CCC et de mener des évaluations de leurs processus. Voici quels étaient les objectifs des évaluations :

Méthodes

Dans le cas du projet CCC de Cross Lake, la collecte des données s’est faite au moyen de trois questionnaires. Les registres des présences ont servi à recueillir les données concernant la participation des cadets. Les données concernant le projet CCC de la collectivité de la Première Nation de Kahkewistahaw et le projet CCC du Conseil tribal de l’agence Touchwood ont été recueillies par la mise sur pied d’un système élémentaire d’inscription des présences, d’entrevues en personne et de groupes de discussion. Les données relatives au projet CCC de Hobbema ont été recueillies à partir de l’observation du programme, de documents, de rapports et d’autres renseignements recueillis sur le programme. Des entrevues ont été menées auprès des principaux intervenants.

Constatations

  1. Au total, environ 565 à 580 jeunes se sont inscrits et ont participé au programme CCC dans l’ensemble des sites de projet. Tous les participants étaient des Autochtones et vivaient dans une réserve, et la grande majorité d’entre eux se trouvaient dans la fourchette d’âge ciblée des 10 à 18 ans. Aucune donnée relative au niveau de risque n’a été enregistrée au moment de l’inscription au programme.
  2. Aucune norme d’exposition uniforme n’était prévue parmi les sites de projet; en outre, certaines activités se chevauchaient et l’exposition des participants au programme variait selon le site. Seuls les sites de Cross Lake et de la collectivité de la Première Nation de Kahkewistahaw ont mis en œuvre toutes les composantes principales du programme CCC.
  3. L’animation des activités du programme CCC a été assurée par les employés du programme, par du personnel militaire et de la GRC ainsi que par des bénévoles. Dans l’ensemble des sites de projet, des problèmes de personnel ont été notés, de même que la nécessité d’un plus grand nombre de bénévoles et d’une participation accrue des parents.
  4. Les partenariats ont été cruciaux pour la mise en œuvre des activités du programme. C’est avec la GRC que la relation de travail était la plus forte.
  5. Selon la rétroaction qualitative obtenue des participants, des employés, des bénévoles et des autres intervenants, il est possible de conclure que le programme CCC a su satisfaire aux besoins des participants. Les jeunes et les parents ont eu une perception positive du programme, qui a semblé répondre à un besoin de la collectivité — le manque apparent d’activités sociales et récréatives positives.

Leçons apprises et recommandations

Des défis ont été cernés dans les domaines suivants : fidélité de la mise en œuvre du programme, collecte et entrée des données, dotation du programme et bénévoles, ainsi que transport et locaux du programme.

Plusieurs recommandations ont été faites :

Lorsqu’on aura donné suite à ces recommandations, le programme CCC sera plus susceptible de parvenir à régler les principales questions énumérées ci-dessus.

Source

Sommaire d'évaluation : Programme Cadets Corps (CCC).

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
269, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@ps-sp.gc.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :