Organized Crime Research Brief no. 11 - Creating an OC Harm Index

PDF (47 KB)

Insufficient quantifiable data exists to reliably measure the scope and harm of organized crime in Canada. Detailed self-reported victimization data and data on illicit markets are required. Proxy estimates or indicators may be useful.

The primary goal of this study was to assess the feasibility and utility of developing and applying rigorous methodological and analytical models that could reliably measure the harm of organized crime in Canada. Within the context of exploring the development of an Organized Crime Harm Index (OCHI), this study aimed to: determine if harm assessment research could produce accurate and reliable findings; analyze the utility of harm assessment research and indices in contributing to the larger goal of organized crime control; and assess the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of implementing an OCHI for Canada.

This report found that, in general, there are insufficient existing sources of quantifiable data in Canada that could be used to reliably measure the scope and harm of the organized criminal activities, including economic-related crimes and illegal drug trafficking. This problem is epitomized by the shortcomings of police-recorded data, which are critical for harm assessment research into organized crime. The only national source of police-recorded data is the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) survey, which under-estimates the true scope of criminal activities. The UCR is not representative of the population of criminal occurrences and does not isolate incidents committed as part of organized criminal conspiracies.

In addition to better police-reported data, other sources where better data is required to more accurately measure the harm of organized crime include collecting more precise, self-reported victimization data collected on a more regular basis, and better usage, prevalence and consumption data for a wide array of criminal markets, such as illicit drugs, prostitution, and organized fraud.

With respect to the utility of harm assessment research and indices in contributing to the larger goal of organized crime control, a variety of research findings suggest that harm assessment research, and harm indices specifically, can contribute to criminal justice policy-making.

It was demonstrated that a national, comprehensive OCHI would be very costly, due, in part, to the necessity of measuring a wide range of criminal activities and the complexity of any research that attempts to measure the scope and effects of organized crime. The cost-effectiveness of implementing an OCHI would be undermined by the lack of a reliable centralized national repository of relevant, quantifiable police-recorded data on the incidence of organized crime offending and the significant challenges that may be encountered in convincing law enforcement agencies to share what information does exist.

Developing a detailed, accurate OCHI would require more in-depth scoping and feasibility research into the development and implementation of an OCHI, as well as extensive, and costly, regular data collection. Future exploratory research could examine: the full range of the organized criminal activities that would comprise the index; different options for how the data measuring the scope and harm of each criminal activity could be collected, and how the methodological limitations identified in this report could be overcome; the range of indirect harms to be included in a measurement of harm; more precise estimates of the costs of conducting such harm assessment research; different conceptual OCHI models could be developed; and how a composite OCHI would be used to inform (and benefit) policies and programs for combating organized crime.

Johnston, Peter, Stephen Schneider, John Neily, Wendy Parkers, and Denis Lachaine.  (2010) Developing and Applying an Organized Crime Harm Index: A Scoping and Feasibility Study. Ottawa, ON: Public Safety Canada.

For more information on organized crime research at Public Safety Canada, please contact the Organized Crime Research Unit at ocr.rco@ps-sp.gc.ca.

Organized Crime Research Briefs are produced for Public Safety Canada and the National Coordinating Committee on Organized Crime (NCC). The NCC and its Regional/Provincial Coordinating Committees work at different levels towards a common purpose: creating a link between law enforcement agencies and public policy makers to combat organized crime. Organized Crime Research Briefs supports NCC research objectives by highlighting evidence-based information relevant for the consideration of policy-development or operations.  The summary herein reflect interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada or the National Coordinating Committee on Organized Crime.

Date modified:

Résumé de recherche sur le crime organisé no 11 - Création d'un indice des torts causés par le crime organisé

PDF (45 Ko)

Les sources de données quantifiables existantes ne sont pas suffisantes pour mesurer de manière fiable l'ampleur des activités du crime organisé au Canada.

Il faut recueillir des données sur la victimisation autodéclarées ainsi que des données sur les marchés illicites. Une estimation approximative ou des indicateurs pourraient s'avérer utiles.

La présente étude avait pour principal objectif d'évaluer la faisabilité et l'utilité d'élaborer et d'appliquer des modèles analytiques et méthodologiques rigoureux permettant de mesurer de façon fiable les torts causés par le crime organisé au Canada. En vue d'examiner la possibilité de créer un indice des torts causés par le crime organisé (ITCO), l'étude visait à : déterminer si la recherche sur l'évaluation des torts pourrait donner des résultats précis et fiables, analyser l'utilité de la recherche sur l'évaluation des torts et d'indices pour l'objectif général de contrôler le crime organisé, et évaluer la faisabilité et la rentabilité de la création d'ITCO au Canada.

Le rapport conclut qu'en règle générale, les sources de données quantifiables existantes au Canada ne sont pas suffisantes pour mesurer de manière fiable l'ampleur des activités du crime organisé dans ce rapport et les torts que ces activités peuvent causer, y compris les crimes économiques et le trafic de drogue. Ce problème est clairement illustré par l'insuffisance des données consignées par les services de police, lesquelles sont essentielles à toute activité de recherche visant à évaluer les torts causés par le crime organisé. La seule source nationale de données policières est établie à partir de la Déclaration uniforme de la criminalité (DUC), qui sous-estime l'ampleur des activités criminelles, n'est pas représentative du nombre d'incidents rapportés et ne traite pas séparément les incidents découlant d'une conspiration du crime organisé.

En plus des données policières exhaustives, d'autres données sont nécessaires pour évaluer plus précisément les torts causés par le crime organisé, notamment des données précises sur la victimisation autodéclarée recueillies de façon régulière ainsi que des données sur l'usage, la prévalence et la consommation relatives à de nombreux marchés criminels comme ceux de la drogue, de la prostitution et de la fraude organisée.

Pour ce qui est de l'utilité de la recherche et des indices d'évaluation des torts dans le but général de contrôler le crime organisé, plusieurs conclusions révèlent que les recherches visant à évaluer les torts causés, plus particulièrement les indices appliqués à cet égard, peuvent contribuer à l'élaboration des politiques relatives à la justice pénale.

Un ITCO représentatif à l'échelle nationale entraînerait des coûts importants, attribuables en partie à la nécessité de mesurer une vaste gamme d'activités criminelles et à la complexité de tout projet de recherche visant à évaluer l'ampleur et l'incidence du crime organisé. La rentabilité de la mise en application d'un tel indice est compromise par l'absence à l'échelle nationale d'un dépôt centralisé et fiable de données policières quantifiables et pertinentes et les défis importants à relever pour convaincre les organismes d'application de la loi de mettre en commun l'information.

La création d'un ITCO détaillé et précis nécessiterait une recherche approfondie pour déterminer l'ampleur et la faisabilité du projet ainsi que la collecte régulière, élargie et onéreuse de données. Une autre recherche exploratoire pourrait s'intéresser à l'éventail complet des activités du crime organisé qui composeraient cet indice, à différentes options quant à la façon de recueillir les données permettant d'évaluer l'ampleur de chaque activité criminelle et les torts causés par chacune d'entre elles et à la façon de surmonter les limites imposées par les méthodes existantes présentées dans ce rapport, à la portée des torts indirects à inclure dans l'évaluation des torts généraux, à des des estimations précises des coûts relatifs à une recherche d'évaluation des torts, à différents modèles conceptuels d'un ITCO et à la façon d'utiliser un ITCO agrégatif pour orienter (et améliorer) l'élaboration des politiques et des programmes de lutte contre le crime organisé.

Johnston, Peter, Stephen Schneider, John Neily, Wendy Parkers et Denis Lachaine. Élaboration et application d'un indice des torts causés par le crime organisé : une étude de faisabilité et de délimitation de l'ampleur,  Ottawa, Sécurité publique Canada, 2010.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la recherche en matière de crime organisé au sein de Sécurité publique Canada, veuillez communiquer avec l'Unité de recherche sur le crime organisé à l'adresse ocr.rco@ps-sp.gc.ca.

Les résumés de recherche sur le crime organisé sontrédigés pour Sécurité publique Canada et le Comité national de coordination sur le crime organisé (CNC). Le CNC et ses comités régionaux et provinciaux de coordination travaillent à différents niveaux en misant sur un but commun : établir des liens entre les organismes d'application de la loi et les décideurs du secteur public afin de lutter contre le crime organisé. Les résumés de recherche sur le crime organisé appuient les objectifs de recherche du CNC en faisant ressortir des renseignements fondés sur la recherche qui sont pertinents pour l'élaboration de politiques ou d'opérations. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent résumé sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement les opinions de Sécurité publique Canada ou du Comité national de coordination sur le crime organisé.

Date de modification :