Research Summary: Scoping Organized Crime

PDF (141 Kb)

In Montreal, between 2005 and 2009, about 1.97% of all criminal incidents can be attributed to organized crime activity

Background

The prevalence of criminal organizations, their involvement in illegal activities and the violence stemming from illicit markets generates serious concerns for law enforcement agencies. Organized crime has routinely been the subject of legislative initiatives and policy. With the introduction of Bill C-22 and Bill C-95 leading to subsequent amendments to the Criminal Code, legislation in Canada has intensified providing police “enhanced” powers to combat organized criminals.

Definitional problems in the area of organized crime lead to measurement problems that have trickled down the criminal justice system. There are various definitions offered by scholars and variations in legal definitions provided by different statutes. As a result, police services differ in their methodology for investigating criminal incidents associated with criminal organizations. These discrepancies, in return, lead to uncertainties about the frequency of incidents related to organized crime and greater uncertainties about the allocation of police resources in dealing with such incidents. Organized crime is an important issue for policing and policing practices. Currently, no prior studies have provided a set of findings addressing: 1) the estimated proportion of criminal incidents that are associated with organized crime activity in one policing jurisdiction; 2) the proportion of resources allocated by the police in dealing with issues related to organized crime; and 3) the overall spending of police services in responding to, and combating activities related to criminal organizations. In other words, there exists little research on estimating the financial and non-financial costs of preventing, investigating and responding to organized crime activity, or comparisons of the organized crime problem to other crime problems.

Method

A mixed-method approach was taken to respond to three objectives of this project: 1) provide an estimate of the proportion of criminal incidents that are associated with organized criminal activities (overall and for each offence type) in Montreal; 2) situate all offenders who were potentially involved in organized crime-related activities within the larger criminal scene in Quebec; and 3) gauge the resources, whether it be human (police strength) or financial (investigation costs) allocated by law enforcement agencies in responding to and combatting activities associated with organized crime.

Data was obtained from the Module d’information policière (MIP), provided by the Sûreté du Québec (SQ), Quebec’s provincial police force and analyzed for co-offending patterns. The MIP provides data on all crime incidents in which one or more individuals were accused, or arrested, but not necessarily convicted in the Province of Quebec.  Further, in-depth interviews were conducted with police personnel in Quebec and British Columbia to supplement the quantitative analyses derived from the MIP.

The estimates of criminal incidents associated with organized criminal activities are based on three different, yet complementary, models: 1) the wide net model (2 co-offenders); 2) the standard definition model (3+ co-offenders); and 3) the post hoc flag model (modified 3+ co-offenders). Each of these models is subjected to three different thresholds based on the seriousness of offences: a) none (all offences); b) broad (offences classified as serious plus “unclassified” offences); and c) strict (offences classified as serious).

Findings

Only 4.4 percent of all criminal incidents in Montreal between 2005 and 2009 involved two or more co‑offenders (11,417 of 256,722 incidents). Using the broadest of models and thresholds (wide net model, broad threshold), it was found that pairs co-offended more than once together in 2,608 incidents out of all of the 11,417 co-offences. This represents 23 percent of all co-offending incidents in the data. These repeat pairs form the basis of what can potentially be considered “organized crime.”

The standard definition model provides a range of between 1.6 percent (strict) to 6.9 percent (no threshold) of co-offending incidents that fit the definition of organized crime. If the wide net model threshold is used, the range is much wider: from 3.9 percent (strict) to 22.8 percent (no threshold) of co-offending incidents that fit the definition of organized crime. For post hoc flag model, the range of proportions go from 0.26 (strict) percent to 2.93 percent (no threshold), with broad threshold producing an estimate of 1.97 percent. The post hoc flag model is the most elaborate of models, which probably provides the better of estimates for proportions of incidents that are related to organized crime.

Generally, from 2005 to 2009, incidents involving two or more offenders, notwithstanding continuity, were most likely to be violent crimes, or property crimes in Montreal. This is in comparison to solo offences that primarily fall into the “all others” category, which is a combination of various non-serious incidents. For instance, 45 percent of solo offences comprised of “other types of offences,” followed by violent crimes (25%). This contrasts with 34 percent of property and another 34 percent of violent offences of co-offences, and 57 percent of property crimes and 22 percent of violent crimes of incidents that could potentially be related to organized crime.

Twenty three percent of Montreal OC offenders were part of the core segment of the Quebec provincial co-offending network (compared to only 5% for non-OC offenders). In addition, 26 percent of the organized crime cases were part of the periphery of the provincial network (compared to 13% for non-OC offenders). Thus, roughly half of these Montreal OC offenders are connected to the wider Quebec provincial OC network in one way or another.

Finally, a combination of estimates from units with mandates to only combat OC and those that deal primarily with OC incidents suggests that there are approximately 250 law enforcement officials at Service de Police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM) who are directly involved in combating OC. This represents an average 0.06% of all police staff in Montreal for the years under study. Of these, 100 core officers are involved in long-term investigations that target upper-level OC members, whereas the remaining 150 officers are more likely to be involved in cases that target lower- to medium-level members, reflecting their limited resources to conduct long-term investigations. Using a very hypothetical calculation method with severe limitations, it could be speculated that the salary cost of the 250 officers directly involved in combatting OC is around $25.9 million, or 4.9% of the average SPVM annual budget.

Source

Bouchard, M., Morselli, C., Hashimi, S., and Ouellet, M. (2015). Proportion of Criminal Incidents Associated with Organized Crime. Ottawa, Ontario: Public Safety Canada. 55 pages.

For more information, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Établir la portée du crime organisé

PDF (151 Ko)

À Montréal, entre 2005 et 2009, environ 1,97 % de tous les incidents criminels peuvent être attribués aux activités du crime organisé

Contexte

La prévalence des organisations criminelles, leur implication dans des activités illégales, de même que la violence découlant des marchés illicites, préoccupent grandement les organismes d’exécution de la loi. Le crime organisé fait régulièrement l’objet d’initiatives législatives et de politiques. Avec le dépôt des projets de loi C‑22 et C‑95 qui ont mené à des modifications du Code criminel, on a intensifié au Canada l’adoption de dispositions législatives pour doter la police de pouvoirs accrus afin de lutter contre les membres du crime organisé.

Les problèmes de définition dans le domaine du crime organisé ont conduit à des problèmes de mesure qui ont eu des retombées sur le système de justice pénale. Différentes définitions sont offertes par les universitaires, et des variantes des définitions juridiques sont énoncées dans différentes lois. De ce fait, les services de police ont recours à différentes méthodes pour enquêter sur les incidents criminels associés aux organisations criminelles. En retour, ces différences occasionnent des incertitudes au sujet de la fréquence des incidents liés au crime organisé, et de plus grandes incertitudes au sujet de l’affectation des ressources policières pour intervenir lors de ce genre d’incident. Le crime organisé est un problème important pour les activités policières et les pratiques connexes. À l’heure actuelle, aucune étude antérieure n’a formulé de constatations portant sur : 1) le pourcentage estimé d’incidents criminels associés aux activités du crime organisé sur le territoire servi par un service de police; 2) le pourcentage de ressources affectées par les services de police à la résolution des problèmes liés au crime organisé; et 3) les dépenses totales engagées par les services de police pour intervenir lors d’activités liées à des organisations criminelles et pour lutter contre ces activités. Autrement dit, il existe peu de recherches sur l’estimation des coûts financiers et non financiers associés à la prévention des activités du crime organisé, à l’enquête sur celles-ci et à l’intervention lors de celles-ci. Il n’existe pas non plus beaucoup de comparaisons du problème du crime organisé avec les autres problèmes de criminalité.

Méthode

Diverses méthodes ont été employées pour remplir les trois objectifs du projet : 1) fournir une estimation du pourcentage d’incidents criminels associés aux activités du crime organisé (dans l’ensemble et pour chaque type d’infraction) à Montréal; 2) situer tous les délinquants possiblement impliqués dans des activités liées au crime organisé dans le milieu criminel élargi au Québec; et 3) évaluer les ressources, qu’elles soient humaines (effectif policier) ou financières (coûts liés aux enquêtes) affectées par les organismes d’exécution de la loi pour intervenir lors d’activités associées au crime organisé et pour lutter contre celles-ci.

Les données ont été tirées du Module d’information policière (MIP) de la Sûreté du Québec, le service de police provincial du Québec, et ont fait l’objet d’une analyse visant à déceler toute tendance associée à la codélinquance. Le MIP fournit des données sur tous les incidents criminels pour lesquels un ou plusieurs individus ont été accusés, ou mis en état d’arrestation, mais pas nécessairement condamnés, dans la province de Québec. Par ailleurs, des entrevues approfondies réalisées auprès du personnel policier au Québec et en Colombie‑Britannique sont venues compléter les analyses quantitatives dérivées du MIP.

Les estimations des incidents criminels associés aux activités du crime organisé sont fondées sur trois modèles différents, mais complémentaires : 1) le modèle de grande envergure (2 codélinquants); 2) le modèle de définition standard (3 codélinquants ou plus); et 3) le modèle de repérage a posteriori (taille modifiée – 3 codélinquants ou plus). Chacun de ces modèles est soumis à trois seuils différents d’après la gravité des infractions : a) aucun (toutes les infractions); b) large (infractions classées comme graves et infractions non classées); et c) strict (infractions classées comme graves).

Constatations

Seulement 4,4 pour cent de tous les incidents criminels survenus à Montréal entre 2005 et 2009 impliquaient deux délinquants ou plus (11 417 incidents sur 256 722). En utilisant le modèle et le seuil les plus larges (modèle de grande envergure, seuil large), on a constaté que des paires avaient commis des infractions ensemble plus d’une fois dans 2 608 incidents parmi les 11 417 incidents de codélinquance, ce qui représente 23 pour cent de tous les incidents de codélinquance dans les données. Ces paires répétées constituent le fondement de ce qui peut être considéré comme « le crime organisé ».

Le modèle de définition standard produit une fourchette variant de 1,6 pour cent (seuil strict) à 6,9 pour cent (aucun seuil) d’incidents de codélinquance qui correspondent à la définition de crime organisé. Si on utilise le modèle de grande envergure, la fourchette est beaucoup plus grande : elle varie de 3,9 pour cent (seuil strict) à 22,8 pour cent (aucun seuil) d’incidents de codélinquance qui correspondent à la définition de crime organisé. Pour le modèle de repérage a posteriori, la fourchette de pourcentages varie de 0,26 pour cent (seuil strict) à 2,93 pour cent (aucun seuil), le seuil large produisant une estimation de 1,97 pour cent. Le modèle de repérage a posteriori est le plus élaboré des modèles, et génère probablement à ce titre les meilleures estimations des pourcentages d’incidents liés au crime organisé.

En règle générale, entre 2005 et 2009 à Montréal, les incidents impliquant deux délinquants ou plus, abstraction faite de la continuité, étaient plus probablement des crimes violents ou des crimes contre la propriété. On peut établir une comparaison avec les infractions commises par un seul délinquant, qui sont principalement classées dans la catégorie « tous les autres », une combinaison de divers incidents non graves. Par exemple, les infractions commises par un seul délinquant consistaient à 45 pour cent en « d’autres types d’infractions », suivies des crimes violents (25 %). En revanche, 34 pour cent des infractions contre les biens et 34 pour cent des infractions avec violence étaient commises par des codélinquants, et 57 pour cent des crimes contre la propriété et 22 pour cent des crimes violents étaient possiblement liés au crime organisé.

Au total, 23 pour cent des délinquants du crime organisé de Montréal faisaient partie du segment principal du réseau provincial de codélinquants du Québec (comparativement à seulement 5 % pour les délinquants ne faisant pas partie du crime organisé). De plus, 26 pour cent des affaires liées au crime organisé impliquaient des délinquants faisant partie du segment périphérique du réseau provincial (comparativement à 13 % pour les délinquants ne faisant pas partie du crime organisé). Ainsi, environ la moitié de ces délinquants du crime organisé de Montréal ont des relations quelconques avec le réseau provincial élargi du crime organisé au Québec.

Enfin, d’après une combinaison des estimations dans l’ensemble des unités ayant pour mandat de lutter uniquement contre le crime organisé et celles qui s’occupent principalement des incidents liés au crime organisé, environ 250 agents d’exécution de la loi au Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM) sont directement chargés de lutter contre le crime organisé, ce qui représente en moyenne 0,06 % de tout l’effectif policier de Montréal pour les années à l’étude. Parmi ceux-ci, 100 agents principaux participent à des enquêtes à long terme qui ciblent de hauts dirigeants du crime organisé, tandis que les 150 autres agents sont plus susceptibles de prendre part à des affaires qui ciblent des membres d’échelons inférieurs ou intermédiaires, compte tenu de leurs ressources limitées pour réaliser des enquêtes à long terme. En utilisant une méthode de calcul très hypothétique comportant des limites strictes, on pourrait avancer l’hypothèse que le coût salarial des 250 agents directement chargés de lutter contre le crime organisé avoisine les 25,9 millions de dollars, ou 4,9 % du budget annuel moyen du SPVM.

Source

Bouchard, M., C. Morselli, S. Hashimi et M. Ouellet. Pourcentage d’incidents criminels associés au crime organisé, Ottawa (Ontario), Sécurité publique Canada, 2015, 61 p.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :