Research Summary
How to best predict sexual reoffending among sex offenders

STABLE-2007 predicts risk for sexual, violent, and any crime reoffending above and beyond Static-99R. Our findings justify the use of STABLE-2007 and Static-99R to guide decisions about risk management and interventions.

PDF (99 KB)

Background

To reduce the likelihood of reoffending, professionals working with individuals convicted of sexual offences need to focus their intervention efforts on the factors most strongly related to the persistence of sexual offending. No single risk factor (e.g., sexual interest in children) provides the sufficient or necessary condition for the persistence of sexual offending. Evaluators typically consider a range of risk factors using structured risk assessment tools.

The STABLE-2007, used for adult males convicted of a sexual offence, is the most widely used assessment tool addressing changing risk factors (e.g., procriminal attitude, impulsivity) in both Canada and the United States. The STABLE-2007 is typically used with the Static-99R. The Static-99R, a faster to score risk tool, is based on an individual's demographic information and criminal history; however, the Static-99R does not provide information on intervention targets.

Method

The purpose of the current study was to review of 20 studies (with 12 independent samples) that have examined the ability of the STABLE-2007 to predict reoffending, as well as to determine whether the STABLE-2007 can improve our prediction of reoffending above and beyond the Static-99R.

The key questions were: (1) Will the STABLE-2007 total scores predict risk of sexual, non-sexual violence, any violence (including sexual), and any crime reoffending? (2) Will using the STABLE-2007 with the Static-99R improve the prediction of sexual offending?

Findings

The individuals in each of the 20 studies were male offenders who were on average 40 years old and primarily Caucasian. The samples included individuals who were convicted of sexual offences against adults or children (including child pornography offences).

The STABLE-2007 predicted all outcomes, including sexual, violent (non-sexual), violent (including sexual), and any crime reoffending. This finding supports the utility of the STABLE-2007 in determining intervention targets in order to reduce sexual offending. In addition, the prediction of reoffending became more accurate when the STABLE-2007 was included in addition to the Static-99R. These findings were supported across different ethnic groups (Canadian vs. non-Canadian samples) and risk- level groups (e.g., higher-risk group).

Implications

Three main practice implications are highlighted:

  1. The STABLE-2007 and its items can be used to better inform supervision and treatment targets.
  2. Using the STABLE-2007 and the Static-99R permits correctional officers to more effectively manage the risk posed by sexual offenders.
  3. The STABLE-2007 can provide insights on the risk posed by individuals who exclusively have child pornography offences, an emerging population of sexual offenders in Canada.

Source

Brankley, A. E., Babchishin, K. M., & Hanson, R. K. (2017). STABLE-2007 demonstrates predictive and incremental validity in assessing risk-relevant propensities for sexual offending: A meta-analysis. Manuscript accepted for publication. Sexual Abuse.


For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West, K1A 0P8
Ottawa, Ontario
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche
Comment optimiser les prédictions de la récidive sexuelle chez les délinquants sexuels

L'échelle STABLE-2007 surpasse la Statique-99R pour ce qui est de prédire le risque de récidive sexuelle, de récidive violente et de toute récidive. Nos constatations justifient l'utilisation de la STABLE-2007 et de la Statique-99R pour orienter les décisions au sujet de la gestion du risque et des interventions.

PDF (104 Ko)

Contexte

Afin de réduire la probabilité de récidive, les professionnels qui travaillent avec les personnes déclarées coupables d'infractions sexuelles doivent concentrer leurs efforts d'intervention sur les facteurs les plus étroitement liés à la persistance de la délinquance sexuelle. Aucun facteur de risque (p. ex. l'intérêt sexuel dans les enfants) n'établit à lui seul les conditions suffisantes ou nécessaires à la persistance de la délinquance sexuelle. Les évaluateurs examinent habituellement un éventail de facteurs de risque à l'aide d'outils structurés d'évaluation du risque.

La STABLE-2007, qui s'applique aux hommes adultes déclarés coupables d'une infraction sexuelle, est l'outil d'évaluation le plus couramment utilisé qui tient compte des facteurs de risque changeants (p. ex. attitude procriminelle, impulsivité) au Canada et aux États-Unis. La STABLE-2007 est généralement utilisée conjointement avec la Statique-99R, un outil permettant d'établir une cote de risque plus rapidement qui repose sur l'information démographique et les antécédents criminels de la personne; cet outil ne fournit toutefois pas d'information sur les cibles d'intervention.

Méthode

L'étude avait pour but d'examiner 20 études (comptant 12 échantillons indépendants) qui se sont penchées sur la capacité de l'échelle STABLE-2007 de prédire la récidive. Elle visait également à déterminer si la STABLE-2007 surpasse la Statique-99R pour ce qui est de prédire la récidive.

Les questions clés étaient les suivantes : (1) Les scores totaux obtenus à la STABLE-2007 permettront-ils de prédire le risque de récidive sexuelle, de récidive avec violence à caractère non sexuel, de tout type de récidive violente (y compris la récidive sexuelle) et de toute récidive? (2) L'utilisation de la STABLE-2007 avec la Statique-99R permettra-t-elle de mieux prédire la délinquance sexuelle?

Constatations

Les individus examinés dans chacune des 20 études étaient des délinquants de sexe masculin qui avaient en moyenne 40 ans et étaient principalement de race blanche. Les échantillons étaient composés de personnes déclarées coupables d'infractions sexuelles commises contre des adultes ou des enfants (comprend les infractions de pornographie juvénile).

La STABLE-2007 permettait de prédire tous les résultats, notamment la récidive sexuelle, la récidive avec violence (à caractère non sexuel), la récidive violente (y compris la récidive sexuelle) et toute récidive. Cette constatation confirme l'utilité de la STABLE-2007 lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer les cibles d'intervention en vue de réduire la récidive sexuelle. De plus, la prédiction de la récidive devenait plus exacte lorsque la STABLE-2007 était utilisée conjointement avec la Statique-99R, une constatation qui s'applique à différents groupes ethniques (échantillons canadiens et non canadiens) et niveaux de risque (p. ex. risque élevé).

Répercussions

Trois principales répercussions sur la pratique sont soulignées :

  1. La STABLE-2007 et ses éléments peuvent servir à mieux éclairer les cibles de surveillance et de traitement.
  2. L'utilisation de la STABLE-2007 et de la Statique-99R permet aux agents correctionnels de gérer plus efficacement le risque que présentent les délinquants sexuels.
  3. La STABLE-2007 peut renseigner sur le risque que présentent les auteurs d'infractions de pornographie juvénile seulement, une population émergente de délinquants sexuels au Canada.

Source

Brankley, A. E., Babchishin, K. M. et Hanson, R. K. (2017). STABLE-2007 demonstrates predictive and incremental validity in assessing risk-relevant propensities for sexual offending: A meta-analysis. Sexual Abuse. Manuscrit accepté pour publication.


Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :