Joint Public Inquiry into the Nova Scotia April 2020 Tragedy

The Governments of Canada and Nova Scotia announced their intent to establish a comprehensive joint public inquiry into the Nova Scotia April 2020 tragedy in July 2020. The inquiry will help determine what happened and will make recommendations to help prevent similar tragic events in the future.

The Mass Casualty Commission (Commission), the independent public inquiry created to examine the event, was officially established after the Government of Canada and province of Nova Scotia each issued an Order in Council on October 21, 2020.

The Commissioners

The three individuals jointly selected to undertake the Inquiry are the Honourable J. Michael MacDonald, Ms. Leanne J. Fitch and Dr. Kim Stanton.

Chief Commissioner – The Honourable J. Michael MacDonald served as Chief Justice of Nova Scotia until his retirement in 2019. As Chief Justice, he led, or promoted, several judicial outreach initiatives with Nova Scotia’s Mi’kmaw and Black communities. He also led initiatives to enhance diversity on Nova Scotia’s benches, including a judicial mentorship program for Black and Mi’kmaw lawyers and justice day camps for students from Nova Scotia’s marginalized communities. The Honourable Michael MacDonald was a member of the Canadian Judicial Council for 20 years, and chaired several of its committees. After retiring from the bench, he has joined Stewart McKelvey as counsel. In that capacity, he promotes similar initiatives through the firm’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee. The Nova Scotia Branch of the Canadian Bar Association awards annually the J. Michael MacDonald Access to Justice Award to honour his work in the area of access to justice. He is a recipient of both the Queen’s Golden Medal and the Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Ms. Leanne J. Fitch retired from 34 years in municipal policing in 2019. She served seven years as Chief of Police for the Fredericton Police Force, seven years as Deputy Chief and 20 years in a range of front-line operational policing roles. Ms. Fitch has Bachelor and Master’s degrees in sociology from the University of New Brunswick. She is a former roundtable member for the provincial Department of Public Safety on Crime Reduction and Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence, and former member of the New Brunswick Domestic Violence Death Review Committee. She served as chair and vice chair for the Criminal Intelligence Service New Brunswick Provincial Executive Committee. Ms. Fitch is the past co-chair of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police Crime Prevention, Community Safety and Wellbeing Committee where she was instrumental in developing the CACP National Framework for Collaborative Police Action on Intimate Partner Violence. She remains involved in three separate research projects on intimate partner violence. She completed a one-year term as vice-chairperson of the inaugural RCMP Management Advisory Board, established to provide the RCMP Commissioner with expert external advice on the management and administration of the RCMP. Leanne is a recipient of the Queens’ Diamond Jubilee Medal and is a Member of the Order of Merit of Police Forces from the Governor General.

Dr. Kim Stanton practices Aboriginal and constitutional law at Goldblatt Partners LLP in Toronto. Raised in southern Alberta, she completed her honours undergraduate degree at the University of Calgary, her law degree at the University of British Columbia, and Masters and Doctoral degrees in law at the University of Toronto. After clerking at the British Columbia Supreme Court and practising litigation at a national law firm in Vancouver, she spent a year in West Africa working at the Ghana Centre for Democratic Development before returning to practice in Vancouver. A former Legal Director of the Women’s Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF), she worked with community-based organizations and built coalitions across the country to advance equality rights and improve access to justice for marginalized people in areas spanning criminal law, human rights law, socioeconomic rights, reproductive justice, and violence against Indigenous women and girls. She publishes in the areas of constitutional law, transitional justice and public inquiries and has served as an adjudicator on a provincial administrative tribunal. In 2016, the federal Minister of the Status of Women appointed Dr. Stanton to her Advisory Council on the Federal Strategy Against Gender-based Violence.

The Commissioners will work at arm’s-length from both levels of government. Their work and mandate are outlined in the two Orders in Council that establish the Joint Public Inquiry.

For more information, visit the Mass Casualty Commission website.

Milestones

The Joint Public Inquiry’s Commissioners must submit two reports to the Governments of Canada and Nova Scotia on their findings, lessons learned and recommendations – an interim report by May 1, 2022 and a final report by March 31, 2023.   

The Mass Casualty Commission submitted its interim report to the Government of Canada and the province of Nova Scotia on April 28, 2022 and published the report on its website on May 2, 2022.

Links

Date modified:

Enquête publique commune concernant la tragédie d’avril 2020 en Nouvelle-Écosse

Les gouvernements du Canada et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont annoncé leur intention d’établir une enquête publique commune et exhaustive en juillet 2020. L’enquête aidera à déterminer ce qui s’est passé et à faire des recommandations afin d’aider à prévenir des événements semblables.

La Commission des pertes massives est un groupe d’enquête publique indépendant créé pour examiner l’incident en 2020. Elle a été établie par décret des gouvernements fédéral et néo-écossais le 21 octobre 2020.

Les commissaires

Les trois personnes choisies pour entreprendre l’enquête sont l’honorable J. Michael MacDonald, Mme Leanne J. Fitch et Dre Kim Stanton.

Commissaire en chef – L’honorable J. Michael MacDonald a occupé le poste de juge en chef de la Nouvelle-Écosse jusqu’à sa retraite en 2019. Comme juge en chef, il a mené plusieurs projets d’intervention et a fait la promotion de plusieurs initiatives avec les communautés micmaques et noires de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a également mené des initiatives pour faire croître la diversité au tribunal néo-écossais, notamment un programme de mentorat juridique pour les avocats noirs et micmacs ainsi que des camps de jour juridiques pour les étudiants venant de communautés marginalisées en Nouvelle-Écosse. L’honorable Michael MacDonad était membre du Conseil canadien de la magistrature où il a présidé plusieurs de ses comités. Après sa retraite, il s’est joint au cabinet de Stewart McKelvey comme avocat. Dans ce rôle, il fait la promotion d’initiatives semblables par l’entremise du comité de diversité et d’inclusion de son cabinet. La Division de la Nouvelle-Écosse de l’Association du barreau canadien décerne le « Prix J. Michael MacDonald pour l’accès à la justice » afin d’honorer son travail dans le domaine de l’accès à la justice. Il est le récipiendaire de la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine et la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine.

Mme Leanne J. Fitch a pris sa retraite en 2019 après une carrière dans le domaine policier de 34 ans. Elle était la cheffe de police des services policiers de Fredericton pendant 7 ans et la cheffe adjointe pendant 7 ans. Elle a également tenu plusieurs rôles de première ligne dans les services policiers pendant 20 ans. Mme Fitch a un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en sociologie. Elle est une ancienne membre de la table ronde sur la réduction du crime et la violence conjugale pour le ministère provincial de la Sécurité publique. Elle a également été membre du comité d’examen des décès dus à la violence conjugale. Elle était la présidente et vice-présidente du Comité d’examen des décès causés par la violence conjugale du Nouveau-Brunswick. Mme Fitch est l’ancienne coprésidente du Comité sur la prévention du crime, la sécurité communautaire et le bien-être de l’Association canadienne des chefs de police. Dans ce rôle, elle était indispensable dans l’élaboration du Cadre national de l’ACCP pour l’Action policière collaborative sur la violence conjugale. Elle demeure impliquée dans trois projets de recherche sur la violence conjugale. Elle a terminé un mandat d’un an comme vice-présidente du Conseil consultatif inaugural de la gestion de la GRC, un conseil établit pour offrir à la commissaire de la GRC des conseils d’experts sur la gestion et l’administration de la GRC. Leanne est le lauréat de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine et elle est membre de l’Ordre du mérite des corps policiers du gouverneur général.

Dr Kim Stanton exerce le droit au sein du groupe du droit autochtone chez Goldblatt Partners LLP à Toronto. Elle a grandi dans le sud de l’Alberta et a obtenu son baccalauréat de l’Université de Calgary. De plus, elle est diplômée de la faculté de droit de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et elle a obtenu sa maîtrise et son doctorat en droit de l’Université de Toronto. Elle a œuvré dans un cabinet national de Vancouver après un stage à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique. Ensuite, elle a passé un an dans l’Afrique de l’Ouest pour travailler dans le Centre du développement démocratique du Ghana avant de retourner à un cabinet à Vancouver. Anciennedirectrice Fonds d’action et d’éducation juridiques pour les femmes (FAEJ), elle consacrait ses efforts à trouver des moyens de lutter contre la violence envers les femmes et les filles autochtones et à faire valoir les droits d’équité dans des dossiers touchant des domaines du droit des Autochtones, du droit criminel, du droit en matière de droits de la personne, des droits socioéconomiques et des droits génésiques. En 2016, la ministre fédérale de la Condition féminine a nommé la Dre Stanton à son Conseil consultatif sur la stratégie pour prévenir et contrer la violence fondée sur le genre.

Les commissaires travailleront indépendamment des deux niveaux du gouvernement. Leur travail et leur mandat sont soulignés dans le décret du conseil qui a établi l’enquête publique commune.

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web de la Commission des pertes massives.

Jalons

Les commissaires de l’enquête publique commune doivent soumettre deux rapports aux gouvernements canadiens et néo-écossais indiquant leurs conclusions, leurs leçons apprises et leurs recommandations. Le rapport provisoire sera présenté d’ici le 1er mai 2022 et un rapport final sera présenté d’ici le 31 mars 2023.

Le 28 avril 2022, la Commission des pertes massives a soumis son rapport intermédiaire aux gouvernements canadien et néo-écossais. Le rapport a été publié sur son site Web le 2 mai 2022.

Liens

Date de modification :