Corrections and Criminal Justice Policy

Public Safety Canada provides advice and support to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness on legislation and policies governing corrections and criminal justice, including:

Strengthening the federal correctional system:

The Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA) and the associated Corrections and Conditional Release Regulations establish the legal framework for the correctional and conditional release systems for federal offenders.

The Department works with the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) to provide a safe and secure environment for staff and inmates at federal correctional institutions. This helps rehabilitate and reintegrate offenders, reducing the risk of reoffending and keeping our communities safe. Public Safety Canada participates in the Heads of Corrections (HOC) forum, which provides leadership and direction to initiatives that enhance collaboration between federal, provincial and territorial governments (FPT) on correctional matters.

In 2019, the CCRA was amended to introduce Structured Intervention Units (SIUs). These units provide a safe living environment for inmates who cannot stay safely within a mainstream inmate population for security or other reasons. While in an SIU, inmates have the opportunity for meaningful human contact, and an opportunity to access programs and services that respond to the inmate’s specific needs and risks. The SIUs provide an opportunity for targeted interventions, programs and healthcare to support inmates’ safe return to the mainstream inmate population as soon as possible.

There is external oversight and monitoring of SIUs:

  • The Minister has established an external SIU Implementation Advisory Panel to monitor and assess CSC’s overall SIU implementation.
  • The Minister has also appointed Independent External Decision-Makers (IEDMs) who work at arms-length from CSC to, in certain circumstances, provide oversight and ongoing assessments of an inmate’s conditions and duration of confinement in an SIU. In certain circumstances, the IEDMs have binding authority to determine that an inmate should not remain in an SIU or order the conditions of confinement in the SIU to be altered.
International transfer of offenders:
Public Safety Canada is responsible for the International Transfer of Offenders Act (ITOA), which governs the transfer of Canadians imprisoned abroad who are seeking to return to Canada as well as foreign offenders in Canada seeking to return to their country of citizenship. The Department provides advice to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, who is the sole decision-making authority on requests for transfer. CSC is responsible for the implementation of the International Transfers of Offenders.
Independent oversight of the federal correctional system:
The Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) is mandated to act as ombudsman for offenders in the care and control of CSC and, as such, is a completely independent and autonomous agency. Public Safety Canada acts as the liaison between the OCI and the Minister of Public Safety and Emergence Preparedness. The OCI publicly releases annual and special reports, in which it makes recommendations for improvements to the federal correctional system.
Record suspensions (formerly known as pardons) and the release of suspended/pardoned criminal records:

Public Safety Canada is responsible for the Criminal Records Act (CRA) and associated regulations, which govern the record suspensions program. It works closely with the Parole Board of Canada (PBC), who administers the program, as well as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), who maintains the National Repository of Criminal Records.

An Act to provide no-cost, expedited record suspensions for simple possession of cannabis came in effect on August 1, 2019, expediting the record suspension process for people convicted only of simple possession of cannabis, eliminating the $644 application fee and the up to 10-year wait period. To learn more about the application process, Canadians can visit Canada.ca/cannabis-record-suspension.

High risk offenders:
Public Safety Canada is responsible for the Sex Offenders Information Registration Act and works closely with the RCMP, who administrates the National Sex Offender Registry. In addition, Public Safety Canada engages with provinces and territories on high risk offender matters, including participating in the Coordinating Committee of Senior Official’s High Risk Offender Working Group and administering the National Flagging System Class Grant Program.
Expungement of historically unjust convictions:
The Expungement of Historically Unjust Convictions Act allows for the permanent destruction of judicial records of unjust convictions. Learn about the eligibility criteria and how to apply for the expungement of one or more convictions. As the organization responsible for the Act, Public Safety Canada works closely with the PBC, the RCMP, the Department of Justice, and the LGBTQ2 Secretariat within the Privy Council Office.

Learn more about…

Date modified:

Politique en matière de services correctionnels et de justice pénale

Sécurité publique Canada fournit des conseils et du soutien au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile quant aux lois et aux politiques qui régissent les services correctionnels et la justice pénale, notamment les aspects suivants :

Renforcement du système correctionnel fédéral :

La Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (LSCMLC) et son Règlement sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, établissent le cadre juridique du système correctionnel et de la mise en liberté sous condition pour les délinquants fédéraux.

Le Ministère collabore avec le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) en vue de fournir un environnement sécuritaire pour le personnel et les détenus, ce qui facilite la réhabilitation et la réinsertion des délinquants en plus de réduire les risques de récidives et d’assurer la sécurité de nos communautés. Sécurité publique Canada participe au forum des responsables des services correctionnels, qui offre un leadership et une orientation aux initiatives qui améliorent la collaboration entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux (FPT) sur les enjeux correctionnels.

En 2019, la LSCMLC a été modifiée pour intégrer les unités d’intervention structurée (UIS). Ces unités offrent un environnement sécuritaire aux détenus qui ne peuvent être gérés de façon sécuritaire dans la population carcérale régulière pour des raisons de sécurité ou autres. Dans une UIS, les détenus ont la possibilité d’avoir des contacts humains significatifs et d’avoir accès à des programmes et services adaptés aux risques et aux besoins particuliers qu’ils présentent. Les UIS permettent des interventions, des programmes et ses soins de santé ciblés dans le but de favoriser la réintégration sécuritaire des détenus dans la population carcérale le plus rapidement possible.

Le processus de surveillance externe des UIS est le suivant :

  • Le ministre a instauré un Comité consultatif sur la mise en œuvre des (UIS) chargé de surveiller et évaluer la mise en œuvre générale des UIS par le Service correctionnel du Canada.
  • Le ministre a également nommé des décideurs externes indépendants qui travaillent étroitement avec le Service pour, dans certaines circonstances, offrir une surveillance et des évaluations constantes des conditions de vie et de la durée de confinement d’un détenu dans une UIS. Dans certaines circonstances, les décideurs externes indépendants ont plein pouvoir exécutoire de décider si un détenu doit demeurer dans une UIS ou d’ordonner de modifier les conditions de confinement à l’intérieur de l’UIS.
Transfèrement international des délinquants :
Sécurité publique Canada est responsable de la Loi sur le transfèrement international des délinquants (LTID), qui régit le transfèrement des Canadiens et des Canadiennes emprisonnés à l’étranger qui souhaitent rentrer au Canada, ainsi que le transfèrement des délinquants étrangers emprisonnés au Canada qui souhaitent rentrer dans leur pays de citoyenneté. Le ministère donne des conseils au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, soit le seul responsable des décisions concernant les demandes de transfèrement. Le SCC est responsable de la mise en œuvre des transfèrements internationaux de délinquants.
Surveillance indépendante du système correctionnel fédéral :
Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel a pour mandat d’agir à titre d’ombudsman des délinquants sous la garde et le contrôle du SCC. À ce titre, il est un organisme complètement indépendant et autonome. Sécurité publique Canada assure la liaison entre le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel et le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile. Le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel publie des rapports annuels et des rapports spéciaux dans lesquels il recommande des améliorations à apporter au système correctionnel fédéral.
Suspension du casier judiciaire (anciennement connue sous le nom de pardons) et la libération du casier judiciaire suspendu ou pardonné :

Sécurité publique Canada est responsable de la Loi sur le casier judiciaireet des règlements connexes, qui régissent le programme de suspension du casier. Le Ministère travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada (CLCC), qui administre le programme, ainsi que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), qui tient à jour le Répertoire national des casiers judiciaires.

La Loi prévoyant une procédure accélérée et sans frais de suspension de casier judiciaire pour la possession simple de cannabis, est entrée en vigueur le 1er aout 2019. Cette loi accélère le processus de suspension du casier pour les personnes ayant été condamnées pour possession simple de cannabis et élimine les frais de demandes de 644 dollars ainsi que la période d’attente allant jusqu’à 10 ans. Pour plus d’information au sujet du processus, les Canadiens peuvent consulter Canada.ca/cannabis-suspension-du-casier.

Délinquants à risque élevé :
Sécurité publique Canada est responsable de la Loi sur l’enregistrement de renseignements sur les délinquants sexuels et travaille en étroite collaboration avec la GRC, qui administre le Registre national des délinquants sexuels. De plus, Sécurité publique Canada collabore avec les provinces et les territoires sur les questions relatives aux délinquants à risque élevé, notamment en participant au Comité de coordination des hauts fonctionnaires du Groupe de travail sur les délinquants à risque élevé et en administrant le programme de subventions du Système national de repérage.
Radiation de condamnations constituant des injustices historiques :
La Loi sur la radiation de condamnations constituant des injustices historiques permet la destruction permanente des dossiers judiciaires de condamnations injustes. Renseignez-vous sur les critères d’admissibilité et sur la façon de présenter une demande de radiation d’une ou de plusieurs condamnations. En tant qu’organisation responsable de la Loi, Sécurité publique Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec la CLCC, la GRC, le ministère de la Justice et le Secrétariat LGBTQ2 au sein du Bureau du Conseil privé.

En savoir plus sur…

Date de modification :